The View From Here: Taking control of good health

Posted on November 14, 2013

0


The View From Here: Taking control of good health

By: Rachael Mattice

After a stressful work day, some people turn to happy hour, a few grab treats from the candy shop, and some grab the remote and immediately crash on the couch in front of the television to engage in something that doesn’t require mental energy.

Although I participate in all of these post-work traditions from time to time, I need something more physically exerting.

Growing up, my parents gave me equivalency. I received more aesthetic exposure from my mom; my dad was the athlete and started to ingrain the importance of the Green Bay Packers and other sports at a young age.

Later, participating in several different sporting organizations including basketball, baseball and volleyball, health and longevity became normalcies and acquaintances in my life. It wouldn’t be accurate, though, to say my sporting interest was the sole purpose for my desire to retain my physicality and wellness.

In October 1999, I was diagnosed with a serious illness that would consume half of my life, debilitating me several years physically, mentally and emotionally.

Learning to operate and rebuild my health was a constant struggle, especially as a fifth-grader transitioning to a teenager. It was even more difficult when I was competing with teammates for positions on teams when I was sick.

Once I started at Purdue University, I surpassed the pinnacle of my disease and was able to remember days without body ache.

My sophomore year I explored Tae Kwon Do, boxing and other martial arts and focused on building strength that was previously ripped away from me.

Since the second phase of my wellness revolution, I developed a lifestyle that has put me in the best shape thus far. Like any other stage, fitness and wellness corresponds with life needs and stress. Fast-paced activity fits my demands now more than yoga.

You won’t see me smoking cigarettes, eating greasy food often or sitting around instead of going for a walk. I re-evaluated “feeling good” and how to support one’s health when I used to take handfuls of prescriptions every day.

Succumbing to a greater evil — that you have no control of — changes your attitude toward perseverance. Health is strength to me, strength in turn that is discipline to inspire me to conquer the unthinkable. Without getting ill and taking back control of my health, my footing would be lost.

Mattice is a producer and music journalist for the Journal & Courier. She can be reached at rmattice@jconline.com.

Posted in: "Rock It" Column